Executive Committee

The AMSEC Executive Committee

Consisting of the director and four faculty members drawn from the AMSEC faculty membership, the Executive Committee meets regularly to review activities and approve proposals. It is the committee’s responsibility to facilitate the coordination of AMSEC and to advise the director concerning productivity, effectiveness, and appropriateness of activities. The committee also evaluates and recommends changes to AMSEC’s bylaws. Proposed amendments are approved by the Executive Committee and then moved to the AMSEC general membership for final consideration.

2022-23 AMSEC Executive Committee


  • Amanda Murphy, AMSEC Director and Professor Materials and Organic Chemistry
  • Nicole Hoekstra (Ad Hoc), Professor Plastics and Composites Engineering
  • Bernard Housen, Professor of Geology
  • Tim Kowalczyk, Associate Professor of Physical & Computational Chemistry
  • Andreas Reimann, Professor of Physics

AMSEC Faculty Committee Service


  • AMSEC Curriculum Committee: Ying Bao, (Chemistry), Milton From (Physics), Manuel Montaño (Geology), Nicole Larson (Engineering & Design), Mai Sass (Geology)
  • MAD Seminar Committee: Ying Bao, (Chemistry), Tim Kowalczyk
  • CSE Curriculum Committee Representative: Armin Rahmani (Physics)
  • CSE PPBC Representative: David Rider (Chemistry)
  • CSE Technical Operations Committee Representative: Takele Seda (Physics)
  • CSE Personnel Committee Representative: Milton From (Physics)
  • Equity, Inclusion, and Diversity Representative: Amanda Murphy (Chemistry)